Back to news

Château De Fieuzal The Renewal

FIEUZAL Cru Classé of Pessac-Léognan

A Unique Site, the 75 hectares of the Château De Fieuzal estate are spread out on either side of the Eau Blanche stream, one of the most beautiful gravelly hilltops of the Pessac-Léognan appellation. The soils, where the white gravel of very old origin, drains the soil, accumulates the heat of the sun to better diffuse it.

A Great Terroir, ploughing and traditional cultivation methods, reasoned viticulture, manual harvesting, selective sorting, everything is undertaken to let an exceptional terroir express itself. The vines are thirty years old on average. The red wines are a blend of 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 33% Merlot, 4.5% Cabernet Franc, 2.5% Petit Verdot. Grapes are hand-picked, subjected to a double manual sorting of bunches and berries. Vinification is carried out in thermo-regulated concrete, wood or stainless steel vats. After one month of vatting, they are aged 16 to 24 months in 100% new barrels. Powerful, opulent, the reds have tannins that acquire a velvety structure, highlighting a complex bouquet with smoky notes.

The New Winery, the whole has been designed to ensure that the vinification and maturing process is carried out in optimal conditions. The aim was to allow the 64.5% Cabernet, 33% Merlot and 2.5% Petit Verdot to express their natural qualities through different materials such as concrete, wood and stainless steel. Fifty-four vats have been built and the cellars have been fitted out, under the vats, in order to respect the transfer of the wines as much as possible. Finally, a circular cellar was built under the ground to meet the technical requirements of Stephen Carrier and his team. Stephen Carrier, who works with rigour and passion, in permanent search of perfection, finesse and elegance. Materialized today by the wines he vinifies.

The assembly of the 2012 mainly assembled, based on Cabernet Sauvignon, was completed by some Merlot, some Cabernet Franc, and Petit Verdot. The Merlot and Cabernet Franc were vinified in stainless steel tanks, while the Cabernet Sauvignon and Petit Verdot were worked in concrete tanks. The few batches of Cabernet Sauvignon, rich and concentrated, were isolated in five wooden vats. From this blend, an extremely precise bottle emerges, in which notes of berries and spices emerge. The attack is rich, dense, to leave room in the middle of the mouth for finesse, delicacy, to finish on a final, a freshness, letting us think that this bottle can still age. This Fieuzal 2012 is the supremacy of sensitivity.

Retour aux nouveautés

Château De Fieuzal Le Renouveau

FIEUZAL Cru Classé de Pessac-Léognan

Un Site Unique, les 75 hectares du domaine de Château De Fieuzal se déploient de part et d’autre, du ruisseau de l’Eau Blanche, l’une des plus belles croupes graveleuses de l’appellation Pessac-Léognan. Les sols, où les graves blanches d’origines très anciennes, drainent les sols, accumulent la chaleur du soleil pour mieux la rediffuser.

Un Grand Terroir, labours et méthodes culturales traditionnelles, viticulture raisonnée, vendange manuelle, tri sélectif, tout est entrepris, pour laisser s’exprimer un terroir exceptionnel. Les vignes sont âgées de trente ans en moyenne. Les vins rouges sont issus d’un assemblage de 60% cabernet sauvignon, 33% merlot, 4,5% cabernet franc, 2,5% petit verdot. Les raisins sont vendangés manuellement, soumis à un double tri manuel grappes et baies. Les vinifications s’effectuent en cuve thermo régulées en béton, bois ou inox. Après un mois de cuvaison, ces derniers sont élevés 16 à 24 mois en barriques 100% neuves. Puissants, opulents, les rouges possèdent des tannins qui acquièrent une structure veloutée, mettant en valeur un bouquet complexe, aux notes fumées.

Les Nouveaux Chais, l’ensemble a été conçu pour que la vinification et l’élevage soient menés dans des conditions optimales. Le but était de permettre aux 64,5% de cabernet, 33% de merlot et 2.5% de petits-verdot, d’exprimer leurs qualités naturelles, au travers des différents matériaux, tels que le béton, le bois, et l’inox. Cinquante-quatre cuves ont été réalisées, les chais ont été aménagés, sous les cuves, afin de respecter au mieux, le transfert des vins. Pour finir un chai circulaire, sous terrain, afin de répondre aux attentes techniques souhaitées, par Stephen Carrier et son équipe. Stephen Carrier, qui oeuvre avec rigueur, et passion, est en recherche permanente de la perfection, de la finesse, et de l’élégance.

L’assemblage du 2012 à base de cabernet sauvignon, a été complété par quelques merlots, quelques cabernets francs, et petit verdot. Les merlots et cabernets francs furent vinifiés, dans les cuves inox, tandis que les cabernets sauvignons, et petit verdot furent travaillés en cuves béton. Les quelques lots de cabernets sauvignons, riches et concentrés, furent isolés, dans cinq cuves bois. De cet assemblage il en ressort une bouteille extrêmement précise, dans laquelle se dégagent des notes de baies et d’épices. L’attaque est riche, dense, pour laisser place en milieu de bouche, à la finesse, à la délicatesse, pour terminer sur une finale, d’une fraîcheur, nous laissant penser que cette bouteille peut encore vieillir. Ce Fieuzal 2012 est la suprématie de la sensibilité.