Back to news

Château Haut-Bailly An Identity

Château Haut-Bailly is unique, due to its geographical location, the vineyard is located on one of the highest hilltops on the left bank of the Garonne. Its natural slope allows an efficient drainage. The property benefits from a Bordeaux microclimate, “the exposure is excellent from three and a half to eight and a half hours in the evening in summer, the sun pours its streams of gold, ruby and emerald” wrote Frantz Malvezin in the Oenophile in 1920.

The earth, First of all the subsoil, it is faluns or petrifications of stones and fossil shells. The vine draws minerals and trace elements from it. This subsoil allows the regulation of the water supply, which generates moderate hydric stress. The identity of the vineyard, confers to the wines of Haut-Bailly, the constancy that the amateurs identify on each vintage. The average age of the vines is about 35 years, and for a quarter of the vines between 100 and 120 years old. Haut-Bailly is therefore one of the oldest vineyards of Pessac-Léognan. With a diversity of grape varieties, 1/12 of cabernet-franc, 1/12 of carménère, 1/12 of merlot, 1/12 of malbec, 1/12 of petit verdot, 7/12 of cabernet-sauvignon. The vines are cultivated without weedkillers and harvested by hand. Very short pruning, thinning of the harvest after flowering.

The harvest is sorted by hand, during the picking process, on a first sorting table. Finally, the berries separated from the stalks pass over a vibrating table, where they are sorted. Vinification is done by plot, in small vats of 50 to 90 hectoliters, in order to follow the evolution of each lot. After malolactic fermentation, the wines are aged in new French oak barrels for 16 to 18 months.

The identity of Haut-Bailly is a unique style, a harmonious blend of concentration and finesse, structure and suppleness, aromatic richness and softness of tannins. Haut-Bailly improves with time, its tannins melt, as it ages, to give way to complexity and harmony. The difficulty is not to make a successful vintage, but to be consistent in performance. While keeping its singularity.

The Maison Chai des Chartreux wanted to present Château Haut-Bailly to you, through prestigious bottles. In adequacy with the wines vinified in this Property, which reveal themselves with time, with modesty. Haut-Bailly suggests a secret, imposes respect. In these times of insatiable gaze, where the possibility of seeing everything and knowing everything is claimed as a right, where the duty of transparency has become obsessive. To be and to remain identifiable, from an objective point of view, and from a subjective point of view, seems to define the meaning of the term “identity” well.

Retour aux nouveautés

Château Haut-Bailly Une Identité

Château Haut-Bailly est unique, de par sa situation géographique, le vignoble se trouve, sur l’une des croupes les plus élevées, de la rive gauche de la Garonne. Sa pente naturelle permet un drainage efficace. La propriété bénéficie d’un microclimat Bordelais, « l’exposition est excellente de trois heures et demie à huit heures et demie du soir en été, le soleil y verse ses flots d’or, de rubis et d’émeraude » écrivait Frantz Malvezin dans l’Oenophile en 1920.

La terre, tout d’abord le sous-sol, il s’agit de faluns ou pétrifications de pierres et de coquillages fossiles. La vigne y puise minéraux et oligo-éléments. Cette sous-couche permet de réguler l’alimentation hydrique, ce qui permet de générer un stress hydrique modéré. L’identité du vignoble, confère aux vins de Haut-Bailly, la constance que les amateurs identifient sur chaque millésime. L’âge moyen des vignes est de 35 ans environ, et pour un quart de la vigne entre 100 et 120 ans. Haut-Bailly est donc l’un des plus anciens vignobles de Pessac-Léognan. Avec une diversité de cépages, 1/12 de cabernet-franc, 1/12 de carménère, 1/12 de merlot, 1/12 de malbec, 1/12 de petit verdot, 7/12 de cabernet-sauvignon. Les vignes sont cultivées sans désherbants et vendangées à la main. Des tailles très courtes, éclaircissage de la récolte après la floraison.

La vendange, est triée à la main, au cours du ramassage, sur une première table de tri, pour finir, les baies séparées de la rafle, passent sur une table vibrante, où elles sont triées. Une vinification parcellaire, dans de petites cuves de 50 à 90 hectolitres, afin de suivre l’évolution de chaque lot. Après les fermentations malolactiques, les vins sont élevés en fûts de chênes Français neufs durant 16 à 18 mois.

L’identité de Haut-Bailly, c’est un style unique, un mélange harmonieux entre concentration et finesse, structure et souplesse, richesse aromatique et douceur des tannins. Haut-Bailly se bonifie avec le temps, ses tanins se fondent, en vieillissant, pour laisser place à la complexité, et l’harmonie. La difficulté n’est pas de réussir un millésime, mais d’être constant, dans la performance. Tout en gardant sa singularité.

La Maison Chai des Chartreux, a souhaité vous présenter le Château Haut-Bailly, au travers de flacons prestigieux. En adéquation avec  les vins vinifiés dans cette Propriété, qui se dévoilent avec le temps, avec pudeur. Haut-Bailly suggère un secret, impose le respect. En ces temps de regard insatiable, où la possibilité de tout voir, et de tout savoir est revendiquée comme un droit, où le devoir de transparence est devenu obsessionnel. Etre et rester identifiable, d’un point de vue objectif, et d’un point de vue subjectif, semble bien définir la signification du terme « identité ».