Back to news

Château Pavie Macquin PREMIER GRAND CRU CLASSE

Men, the role of Albert Macquin in the reconstruction of the Saint-Emilion vineyard was essential. This agricultural engineer came to settle in 1884, to take up the challenge of phylloxera. In 1885 he produced twenty thousand grafts, in 1886 two hundred thousand, more than a million in 1888. He multiplied drainage works, as well as scientific and technological innovations. Henri Enjalbert wrote: “One must imagine Albert Macquin, for more than thirty years, as the great master of the transformation of the St-Emilion vineyard”. In 1990, Stéphane Derenoncourt intervened on the property. At the end of 1994, Nicolas Thienpont became manager. Thanks to the efforts of these two men, Château Pavie Macquin is elevated to the prestigious rank of Premier Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Emilion.

A terroir of strong clays on limestone rock offers the advantage of giving back water little by little with regularity to the vine, it allows the roots of the vine to go and draw water, the great water retention power of these clays, which heat up slowly, the exceptional water regulation of the limestone plate, gives Pavie Macquin power, minerality and freshness.

An “organic” philosophy, a viticulture that respects the life of the soil, on a surface area of 14ha in production. The grape varieties are 85% Merlot, 13% Cabernet Franc, and 2% Cabernet Sauvignon. A vinification in whole grains, a soft extraction by pigeage, a long maceration, an ageing on fine lees, for a search of balance and perfection.

 

Château Pavie Macquin is today, an unavoidable reference on the right bank. It is a laboratory of ideas, experiments, an intuitive working method, and not systematic. The wine is generous, powerful but above all marked by its elegance, in opposition to the search for effect. All the difficulty lies in the fact of always remaining in the rightness, it attests indeed to a mastery, to tame the natural power of this terroir, to let it express itself in the middle of finesse, delicacy, and refinement.

Retour aux nouveautés

Château Pavie Macquin PREMIER GRAND CRU CLASSE

Des Hommes, le rôle d’Albert Macquin, dans la reconstruction du vignoble de Saint-Emilion, fut essentiel. Cet ingénieur agronome est venu s’installer en 1884, pour relever le défi du phylloxéra. En 1885 il produit vingt mille greffes, en 1886 deux cent mille, plus d’un million en 1888. Il multiplia les travaux de drainage, ainsi que les innovations scientifiques et technologiques. Henri Enjalbert écrit: « Il faut se représenter Albert Macquin, pendant plus de trente ans, comme le grand maître de la transformation du vignoble St-Emilionnais ». En 1990, Stéphane Derenoncourt intervient sur la propriété. Fin 1994, Nicolas Thienpont devient gérant. Grâce aux efforts de ces deux hommes, Château Pavie Macquin est élevé au rang prestigieux, de Premier Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Emilion.

Un terroir, d’argiles fortes sur roche calcaire, offre l’avantage de restituer l’eau petit à petit avec régularité à la vigne, il permet aux racines de la vigne, d’aller puiser de l’eau, le grand pouvoir de rétention en eau, de ces argiles, qui se réchauffent lentement, l’exceptionnelle régulation hydrique, de la plaque calcaire, donnent à Pavie Macquin puissance, minéralité et fraîcheur.

Une philosophie « bio », une viticulture respectueuse de la vie du sol, sur une superficie de 14ha en production. L’encépagement est de 85% Merlot, 13% Cabernet Franc, et de 2% Cabernet Sauvignon. Une vinification en grains entiers, une extraction douce par pigeage, une macération longue, un élevage sur lies fines, pour une recherche d’équilibre et de perfection.

 

Château Pavie Macquin est aujourd’hui, une référence incontournable de la rive droite. C’est un laboratoire d’idées, d’expériences, une méthode de travail intuitive, et non systématique. Le vin est généreux, puissant mais surtout marqué par son élégance, en opposition à la recherche de l’effet. Toute la difficulté réside dans le fait, de toujours rester dans la justesse, elle atteste effectivement d’une maîtrise, à dompter la puissance naturelle de ce terroir, pour la laisser s’exprimer au milieu de la finesse, de la délicatesse, et du raffinement.

Produits liés :

  • Château PAVIE MACQUIN 2013

    35,50  HT
    42,60  TTC
    / Carton de 1 (75Cl)
  • Château PAVIE MACQUIN 2013

    213,00  HT
    255,60  TTC
    / Caisse bois de 6 Bouteilles
  • Château PAVIE MACQUIN Magnum 2013

    222,00  HT
    266,40  TTC
    / Caisse bois de 3 Magnums
  • Château PAVIE MACQUIN Magnum 2013

    438,00  HT
    525,60  TTC
    / Caisse bois de 6 Magnums